Two Variations on the Chocolate Chip Cookie

 🍪Two very different recipes for two equally delicious vegan chocolate chip cookies…While one recipe calls for nut butter as the egg replacer the other uses the brine from a can of chickpeas. Both work equally well.🍪The wholesome ingredients in this chocolate chip cookie from The Vegan Corner on YouTube inspired me to give it a go. I changed up the ingredients but still followed the recipe directions and they turned out great (according to my recipe tester husband). 

The ingredients I used: Whole wheat flour, coconut sugar, baking soda, soy milk (added an xtra 1/4 cup), almond butter + vegan chocolate chips. I baked at 350F (top oven rack) on a parchment-lined baking sheet for 20 minutes. 

The second chocolate chip cookie from Vedge Out……is a more traditional type of cookie using vegan butter, sugar, flour, vanilla, baking soda, and baking powder. The one unusual ingredient is the egg replacer, which calls for the liquid from a can of chickpeas.The recipe calls for pastry flour and I used all-purpose whole wheat flour. The cookies seemed very sweet, according to my taste tester husband, but he still enjoyed them with his coffee.

Two helpful YouTube links I used when making this cookie recipe: 

1) Watch how to make this exact recipe on Mary’s Test Kitchen 

2) I do not own a stand mixer so I watched this video on how best to combine sugar and room-temperature butter (I used Earth Balance butter and let it sit out all day) using a wooden spoon.

🍪🌻Happy baking!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

